top of page


The Dunn County Sheriff’s Department is a full-service agency that provides law enforcement service to Dunn County in West Central Wisconsin. Dunn County is over 850 square miles and approximately 50,000 residents. There are 14 villages, 22 townships, and the City of Menomonie, located within the county. Deputies are on patrol and respond to service calls day and night on all streets, highways, cities, and villages within the county.


The Sheriff’s Office consists of 55 full time employees, 5 part time employees, and up to 30 reserve deputies. Personnel are spread across many different divisions and handling many different operations of the department. The Sheriff is the chief law enforcement officer in the county and is elected for a four-year term. He is empowered to correct any unlawful situation that may occur. The Sheriff is presumed to be on duty 24 hours per day and is responsible for the protection of all citizens within the county. The Sheriff also sees that all areas of the county are properly patrolled, accidents are investigated, and thefts and burglaries are handled promptly and properly.


The Sheriff’s Office consists of three main divisions; these include:

– Adult Detention Facility (County Jail)
– Field Services Division (Patrol, Investigations, etc.)
– Support Division (Records, Court Services, Business Office, etc.)

bottom of page